If you are convicted of a traffic violation, there are consequences in any state. In New Jersey, drivers can be subjected to additional fines from the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) depending on points accrued or the severity of the violation. This is called the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS).
At The Law Offices of Martin A. Kron, we have provided legal advice and representation to drivers in New Jersey for more than 25 years. We understand the frustration drivers feel after getting supplemental fines from the state of New Jersey in addition to a judge's order.
What Is A Surcharge? Under What Circumstances Could One Apply?
Surcharges are fines assessed by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission each year for drivers who have accumulated excessive points on their driving records or committed serious, specific violations such as DUI.
There are collateral consequences to being found guilty of serious or repeat traffic violations in New Jersey. For example, if a driver has a first-offense DUI conviction, a judge might fine him or her $500, and the driver might also get a bill from Trenton for $1,000 per year for the next three years.
The three most common violations are the following:
- Driving while suspended
- Failure to take Breathalyzer
- DWI or DUI
There are several other violations that can cost drivers extra fines, but the previous three are the most common. Do not hesitate to contact a lawyer to discuss your options regarding motor vehicle surcharges.
Contact Us For Help Challenging Your Traffic Matter And Surcharges
If you have questions regarding the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System, contact The Law Offices of Martin A. Kron, by calling 212-691-0175 or completing the contact form on this website. We offer a free initial consultation, and we charge reasonable fees for our services. We help residents of Bergen County and other communities throughout New Jersey.