If you are a driver in New York or New Jersey who needs to appear at a safety hearing regarding a traffic matter, The Law Offices of Martin A. Kron, is uniquely positioned to give you the best chance possible.
A safety hearing is held in civil court in front of an administrative law judge (ALJ) with you, your attorney and a police officer. The ALJ controls the process, and makes all final decisions based on the law and the information presented by both sides. Our founding attorney was a traffic court judge in New York City. We know exactly what it takes to create a persuasive argument.
Call our office at 212-691-0175 or complete our online form to schedule your free consultation with an attorney.
There Are Four Main Types Of Safety Hearings
You may be required to appear at a safety hearing for many different reasons. Listed below are the four most common:
- Fatal accidents: If you were a driver involved in a fatal accident, even if you were not charged with a traffic or criminal violation, you will have to attend a hearing. The judge has the discretion to suspend/revoke your license either temporarily or indefinitely based on the circumstances of your case.
- Suspicion of fraud: If you write a bad check to the DMV/MVC or make false statements on an application, or if the DMV determines through facial recognition software that you applied for a license under a different name, it can trigger the suspicion of fraud. You may be required to attend a hearing to determine if your driving privileges should be suspended or revoked or if criminal charges should be brought against you.
- Refusing to submit to a breath test : If you are pulled over for drunk driving and refuse to submit to a breath test, you face automatic license suspension and will be required to attend a safety hearing. It is an opportunity to determine whether police conducted themselves properly to try to administer the test.
- Three serious traffic violations in 25 years: In New York, if you are convicted of three or more serious traffic violations in the past 25 years, in combination with a single one- to five-point moving violation, your license can be suspended for five years. You are entitled, within 60-days of your denial letter, to be heard. If you are unsuccessful at your hearing, we can help you attempt to reopen a prior case and vacate a conviction.
Time Is Limited. Contact Our Experienced Lawyers As Soon As Possible.
Safety hearings are complicated and time-sensitive. The sooner you have an attorney on your side, the better. You can reach our experienced lawyers by calling 212-691-0175 or completing an online form. We offer free initial consultations and affordable fees.