Being arrested while driving with a suspended or revoked driver's license can create a great amount of difficulty in either New York or New Jersey. Our firm has defended traffic charges since 1986, and we find that many drivers are unaware that they were even driving with a suspended or revoked license for many valid reasons .
At The Law Offices of Martin A. Kron, our attorneys understand the risk that is presented by a charge for driving on a suspended/revoked license. No one wants to face a potential felony charge or possible prison sentence over driving-related issues.
If you have been charged in either state, we encourage you to call us at 212-691-0175 or email us for a free consultation as soon as possible. Waiting could affect your case.
Founding attorney, Martin A. Kron, is a former New York City traffic court judge, trained by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Our firm utilizes that experience to help us create strategies that are tailored to communicate clearly and persuasively with judges.
What Are The Consequences For Driving While Suspended/Revoked?
Like any other traffic violation, the laws vary from one jurisdiction to another. Below are the basic guidelines for offenses:
In New York: Driving while suspended is a criminal offense called aggravated unlicensed operation (AUO). The degree of the offense depends on any prior traffic convictions or license suspensions.
|Third-degree AUO||Misdemeanor||Up to $500 fine plus surcharges||Up to 30 days in jail|
|Second-degree AUO||Misdemeanor||Minimum $500 fine plus surcharges||Up to 180 days in jail|
|First-degree AUO||Felony||Up to $5,000 fine plus surcharges||State prison|
In New Jersey: Driving while suspended is a municipal court matter. A court may enhance the penalties for each offense based upon certain circumstances, such as an accident or intoxication. With each offense, the driver is required to pay a $250 surcharge for three years.
|Offense||Fines||License/Registration Suspension||Jail Time|
|First offense||Fine of $500 plus surcharges||Up to six months additional suspension||No jail time|
|Second offense||Fine of $750 plus surcharges||Up to six months additional suspension||No more than 5 days in jail|
|Third offense||Fine of $1,000 plus surcharges||Up to six months additional suspension||10-day jail sentence|
Don't Pay Penalties You Could Have Avoided. Contact Us Instead.
If you need help or have concerns regarding any offense related to driving while your license was suspended or revoked, contact The Law Offices of Martin A. Kron, by calling 212-691-0175 or completing an online form. We offer free initial consultations, and we charge reasonable fees for our services.