All too often, when people hear about drivers who have been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, the inclination is to think that such people are irresponsible or at least not as responsible as those who have not been arrested. However, in reality very little alcohol is needed to be consumed in order for a person to fail a breath test and be accused of drunk driving in New York or in any other state.
Such is the case for a New York woman who is currently facing felony DUI charges in Vermont. According to the woman, she drank a glass and a half of wine between 9:30 p.m. and 10:00 p.m. one night and then was involved in an accident roughly six hours later. The accident occurred in Middlesex in the early hours of a Monday morning when the accused driver’s Chevrolet Cruze collided head-on with a Kia carrying multiple passengers.
The woman who was arrested alleges that the Kia crossed into her lane and hit her, causing her to end up on the other side of the road. The passengers in the Kia, however, report that the Chevrolet crossed the center line and hit their car. State police indicate that the road marks do not support the Chevrolet driver’s story. If convicted, the woman could face fines up to $25,000 and a prison sentence up to 30 years. She and a 52-year old woman in the other car suffered multiple broken bones as well as additional injuries in the crash.
If you have been arrested for driving while intoxicated, it could be important for you to obtain help from a lawyer to defend your case. Many nuances can affect the outcome of such charges and situations.
Source: The Barre Montpelier Times Argus, “NY woman faces felony DUI charge,” Eric Blaisdell, November 22, 2013