Driver’s license suspension is possible if you get a ticket. The DMV can suspend your driving privileges for various reasons. For instance, you might be subject to this sanction if you failed to respond to a traffic ticket, are a new driver under probation, or have accumulated a certain number of points within a specified period.
Regardless of why your driver’s license was suspended, if the DMV takes this action against you, you cannot legally operate a vehicle. Driving while your license is suspended so can result in additional charges and consequences.
What Does It Mean If Your Driver’s License Is Suspended?
Having your driving privileges suspended means that you are not allowed to drive. You may be subject to a definite or indefinite suspension, depending on your situation.
A definite suspension has an end date attached to it. After you have been without driving privileges for a certain amount of time, you can seek to have your driver’s license reinstated.
Conversely, an indefinite suspension does not have an end date. To restore your driver’s license, you must complete some specific tasks.
In most cases, whether you have a definite or indefinite suspension, you must pay a suspension termination fee before you can drive again.
Driver’s License Suspension for Failing to Answer a Ticket
One of the ways your driving privileges can be suspended is if you do not answer the traffic ticket. To “answer” means to respond somehow, typically by pleading guilty or not guilty.
Generally, pleading guilty to a traffic ticket means that you pay the fine before the date listed on the citation.
When you plead not guilty, you contest the ticket. Taking this route means that an Administrative Law Judge will hear your case and decide whether you are guilty of the alleged traffic violation.
If you do not take some action in your case, the DMV will suspend your driver’s license until you resolve the matter.
Note that the suspension for failing to answer a ticket does not just apply to citations you received in New York. You can also face this penalty if cited in other states except Alaska, California, Michigan, Montana, Oregon, or Wisconsin.
Can You Get Your License Suspended for Speeding in NYC?
Yes, in NYC, the state will suspend your driving privileges if you accumulate 11 points or three speeding tickets within 18 months. The 18-month period begins from the date of the first violation, not the date of being found (or pleading) guilty.
Driver’s License Points for Speeding in NYC
The number of points assessed for speeding depends on how fast above the speed limit you were going. For instance:
- 1 to 10 mph over is 3 points
- 11 to 20 mph over is 4 points
- 21 to 30 mph over is 6 points
- 31 to 40 mph over is 8 points
- More than 40 mph over is 11 points
Thus, you might be subject to a driver’s license suspension after one or multiple speeding tickets.
Driver’s License Suspension While on New Driver Probation
After passing your driving test, as a new driver, you are on probation for 6 months in New York. If you commit a traffic violation during that time, you could lose your driving privileges.
The suspension period depends on the type and number of violations:
- Two moving violations: 60-day suspension
- One serious moving violation (e.g., speeding or reckless driving): 60-day suspension
- One texting while driving violation: 120-day suspension
Driver’s License Suspension for Points Accumulations
New York operates under a driver’s license points system. Points are assessed after a traffic violation conviction and are effective dated for the date of the violation (not the conviction date). Getting 11 or more points within 18 months can result in the loss of your driving privileges.
Different offenses have different values attached to them. For instance:
- Reckless driving is 5 points
- Failing to stop for a school bus is 5 points
- Improper use of a cell phone is 5 points
- Texting while driving is 5 points
- Failing to yield the right-of-way is 3 points
- Disobeying a traffic signal or sign is 3 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damage is 3 points
- Failing to signal is 2 points
- Making an improper turn is 2 points
Driving While License Suspended
As noted earlier, it’s unlawful to operate a vehicle while your driver’s license is suspended. Driving during the suspension period is an offense called aggravated unlicensed operation of a motor vehicle.
If you are found guilty, you could face:
- Fines between $250 and $500
- Up to 30 days of incarceration or
- Up to 30 days of probation
Reach Out to Our Firm Today
A New York traffic ticket can have serious consequences making it difficult for you to take care of daily tasks. You can seek to avoid or minimize penalties by challenging the citation. Martin A. Kron & Associates, P.C. can help.
Schedule a free consultation by calling us at (212) 235-1525 or submitting an online contact form today.