New York Driver Responsibility Assessment Program
Former Traffic Court Judge Helping You Avoid Ongoing Fines
The Driver Responsibility Assessment Program is a New York law that went into effect on November 18, 2004. With new requirements, you could end up paying fines for years—not just once—in order to settle your traffic ticket. If you have accumulated enough traffic tickets, you need help from an experienced New York traffic ticket lawyer to avoid huge fines. Contact Martin A. Kron & Associates, P.C. today to schedule a free consultation about your case.
What Is the New York Driver Assessment Program?
When you are convicted of a traffic violation, you must pay a fine to the court.
Under the NY Driver Assessment Program, a motorist must pay the DMV each year for three years if they:
- Incur six or more points on their driving record for violations occurring on or after November 18, 2004
- Are convicted of an alcohol- or drug-related traffic infraction and the violation occurred on or after November 18, 2004
- Refused to take a chemical test on or after November 18, 2004
Even when you know about the Driver Responsibility Assessment Program, the situation can still take you by surprise.
Here are a few other frequently asked questions about the law:
- How will I be notified if I must pay the driver responsibility program tax? The DMV will send you a statement after the points, conviction, or refusal is entered on your driving record. The DMV will also examine your driving record every three months to determine if a new driver responsibility assessment is necessary. If there are no new incidents, the DMV will send annual bills.
- Can I reduce the amount of the driver responsibility assessment by taking a point reduction class? No. The point reduction class can take up to four points off of your license, helping you keep insurance premiums low and avoid license suspension for too many points. It cannot reduce the fees.
- What will happen if I fail to pay the driver responsibility assessment? Your driver's license, permit, or privileges will be suspended until it is paid.
Avoid Three Years of Additional Assessments
When you receive a traffic ticket, we encourage you to call us for a consultation. We can discuss your options for contesting the ticket and avoiding the potential penalties that come with it.
Call us at (212) 235-1525 now to get started.
The New Jersey Surcharge System
Protecting Yourself from Additional Fines
If you have enough points on your driving record in New Jersey, you may be subject to additional fines from the Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC). This is called the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS). At Martin A. Kron & Associates, P.C., we have provided legal advice and representation to drivers in New Jersey for more than 25 years. We understand the frustration drivers feel after getting supplemental fines from the state of New Jersey in addition to a judge's order.
What Is a Surcharge?
Surcharges are fines assessed by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission each year for drivers who have accumulated excess points on their driving records or have committed serious, specific violations such as DUI.
There are collateral consequences to being found guilty of serious or repeat traffic violations in New Jersey. For example, if a driver has a first-offense DUI conviction, a driver might be fined $500 by the judge and fined $1,000 per year for the next 3 years by the state of New Jersey.
The three most common violations are the following:
There are several other violations that can cost drivers extra fines, but the three above are the most common. Do not hesitate to contact a lawyer to discuss your options regarding motor vehicle surcharges.
Contact Martin A. Kron & Associates, P.C. Today
Getting answers to your questions can be tough. Make sure you have a legal professional you can trust. With more than 30 years of experience and tenure as traffic court judge, Attorney Martin Kron understands the nuances of these challenging systems. Call today for a free consultation about what to do next.
Call (212) 235-1525 now. Martin A. Kron & Associates, P.C. helps residents of Bergen County and other communities throughout New Jersey.
Points System in New Jersey
Learn More about How Infractions Affect Your Driving Record
In New Jersey, each traffic violation is assigned a unique point value that will go on your license. With too many points, your license will be subject to suspension or revocation, and you will no longer have driving privileges. Knowing the law can help you make wise choices when you are presented with a ticket. If you face a traffic ticket, contact the New Jersey traffic ticket lawyer at Martin A. Kron & Associates, P.C. for help.
When Too Many Points Becomes a Problem
A single traffic ticket is not a serious problem. As long as you drive perfectly for the next few years, you will not have anything to worry about. However, if you have a more serious violation in the years ahead, having a prior ticket can make the consequences far worse, including skyrocketing insurance rates and more serious consequences for future infractions.
In New Jersey, having six points on your record within three years makes you subject to surcharges. Once you accumulate 12 or more points on your record, your license can be suspended.
Point values vary depending on what happened and how many other offenses are already on your driving record.
Those point values are:
- Speeding over the limit – 2-5
- Leaving the scene of an accident (property damage) – 2
- Leaving the scene of an accident (with injury) – 8
- Improper cellphone use or texting – 3 (on third offense)
- Running a red light or stop sign – 2
- Following too closely or tailgating – 5
- Improper passing – 4
- Failure to stop for a school bus – 5
- Reckless driving – 5
Schedule Your Consultation Today
Going to court for a ticket is a drag. Let our New Jersey traffic ticket lawyer handle all your court appearances. We are here to help you build a case and protect your driving privileges. Schedule your free consultation with our firm today.
Dial (212) 235-1525 today.
Points System in New York
Don't Pay Fines that Automatically Put Points on Your Record
New York uses a points system where certain traffic violations are given a point value. When you accumulate a certain number points, the Department of Motor Vehicles or the Motor Vehicle Commission can and will suspend or revoke your driver's license. While it may seem easier to just pay your ticket and move on, doing so means pleading guilty to a traffic offense, and points will be added automatically. Let the New York traffic ticket lawyer at Martin A. Kron & Associates, P.C. help.
Too Many Points Can Result in License Suspension & Additional Fines
How many points does it take for a license suspension? That depends on the type of traffic violation and the number of offenses you are convicted of in a certain period of time.
In New York, once you get six points on your record, you are subject to additional fines for tickets in the future. If you accumulate 11 or more points, or if you receive three speeding tickets in an 18-month period, your license may be revoked for a minimum of six months.
Listed below are some of the most common or serious offenses, and the points associated with each. Remember that points are not the only penalty for many of these violations. Some alone could result in license suspension and criminal sanctions.
In New York, the points value for infractions is:
- Speeding over the limit – 3 to 11
- Leaving the scene of an accident (property damage) – 3
- Leaving the scene of an accident (with injury) – 4
- Improper cellphone use or texting – 5
- Running a red light or stop sign – 3
- Following too closely or tailgating – 4
- Improper passing – 3
- Failure to stop for a school bus – 5
- Reckless driving – 5
Being Proactive Starts with a Consultation
If you have questions about the points system, need help resolving a traffic ticket, or require assistance with any license matter, we encourage you to schedule a consultation with one of our attorneys.
Call our office today at (212) 235-1525.
Traffic ticket FAQ
Your Questions Answered by a New York Traffic Ticket Defense Lawyer
While paying the fine for a traffic ticket and moving on may seem like the natural thing to do, the results can be more serious than you'd expect. At Martin A. Kron & Associates, P.C., we can help you build a strong case to protect your driving privileges and avoid increased insurance rates in the future. If you’re dealing with a traffic infraction, call a New York traffic ticket lawyer you can count on.
Below are some of the questions our clients frequently ask. If you don't see your question answered here, schedule a free consultation for more information. Call us today to get started.
Can I get points removed from my driving record?
Yes, you may be able to remove up to four points from your driving record by completing a DMV-approved course called the Point and Insurance Reduction Program.
How long are points active?
Points, for purposes of suspension and the Driver's Responsibility Assessment are (upon conviction) assessed according to the date the summons was issued. DMV may suspended your license if you get 11 or more points within an 18 month period. The date of conviction is not relevant.
How long will a conviction/accident remain on my record?
A traffic ticket conviction or an accident normally remains on a driver record during the year that the conviction or the accident occurred, and for the following three additional years.
DMV uses the date when the conviction occurred, not the date when the actual violation occurred. For example when a traffic ticket conviction or accident which occurred on March 22, 2017 will remain on there through December 31, 2020 and will be removed on January 1, 2021.
Suspensions or revocations of a driver license remain on a driver’s record for four years from the date the suspension or revocation was terminated. This is for four years from the date that the suspensions was terminated, not the date it started. Suspensions or revocations that have not been cleared or terminated remain on a record indefinitely.
My license has been suspended for accumulating too many points. How can I get it back?
Our New York traffic ticket defense attorney can negotiate with the DMV to try to reduce the suspension period or reinstate your license. This can be a complicated matter and may involve an administrative hearing. It is best to talk to an attorney about the specifics of your case to determine your options.
Do I have to appear in court if I have hired an attorney?
No, generally speaking, you don’t. Your attorney can appear in court for you.
What is the Driver Responsibility Assessment Program?
It is a fee you must pay the DMV if you have accumulated six or more points in an 18-month period. The amount you will be required to pay will depend on how many points you have accumulated.
What happens if I fail to appear in court or to pay the fine on my ticket?
If you fail to appear for any scheduled court date or fail to pay the fine by its due date, the court notifies the DMV to suspend your license and your registration. If your license gets suspended, you will have to pay the court $70 for each ticket that led to your suspension.
Have more questions specific to your situation? Contact a New York traffic ticket defense attorney at
Martin A. Kron & Associates, P.C. at (212) 235-1525.