Traffic and Traffic-Related Criminal Defense: Call For a Consultation. Mobile and Zoom Conferences Are Available.

You Can Face Heavy Penalties for Driving Drunk in New Jersey

If you've been stopped for driving under the influence, you now have a few problems to address. You may have problems getting to work or school, between your family members because of your actions or simply fear the charges you face. Fortunately, your attorney can help you work through this situation and toward the best possible outcome.

Driving under the influence is certainly not the best idea, but mistakes happen. If you're stopped and the police take a Breathalyzer test, it's important that the test is performed accurately. If you burp or have indigestion, for instance, the test may not be accurate.

If the test is performed correctly and is admissible in court, then your attorney can help you look into other defensive options. If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was over 0.08, you may be charged with a DUI.

If no one was hurt and it's your first conviction, you may face a license revocation of three months along with up to 30 days in prison. You may also need to go through the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center program and pay a fine. The fines in total may be well over $1,500, depending on what the court orders.

If this is not your first offense, you face more serious penalties. You'll have to spend a minimum of 48 hours in jail and may lose your license for two years on a second offense. If it's a third offense, you'll lose your license for 10 years.

These are just a few things to think about if you've been stopped for a DUI. It's important to talk to your attorney about the possible defenses you have, so you can prevent a conviction at all costs.

Related Posts
  • New York DUI and Employment: How a Conviction Could Impact Your Career Read More
  • New York's Approach to DUI Prevention: Education and Awareness Initiatives Read More
  • When Does a DWI in New York Become a Felony? Read More