Traffic and Traffic-Related Criminal Defense: Call For a Consultation. Mobile and Zoom Conferences Are Available.

How Will a Second DWI Affect Me?

The first time you got a DWI, it was when you were just getting into college. You were fortunate in that it was for a minor percentage above the limit, and the penalties were relatively low. You didn't need to drive to get to school or work, and you didn't have federal aid for it to affect, so you went relatively unaffected yourself.

This time is different. You're a young professional, and you can't risk your second DWI threatening your job or your license. You know that a defense can help you, but if it fails, you're worried about the penalties you could face.

There are a number of charges people can face related to impaired driving. These include charges such as:

  • Aggravated driving under the influence for a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of over 0.18 percent
  • Chemical test refusal for failing to provide samples for blood, breath or urine testing
  • Driving while intoxicated ( with a BAC of between 0.08 percent to 0.18 percent).

Second-time aggravated DWI charges lead to fines of up to $10,000 and a maximum jail term of up to seven years, but since your first offense wasn't aggravated, the fines drop to a maximum of $5,000 or up to four years in jail. You will have your license revoked for one year as a mandatory penalty if convicted.

In your position, it's a good choice to speak with an attorney about the factors of your case so that you can have an idea about what to expect. There may be ways to reduce the penalties against you or to have the DWI charges dropped completely, depending on the facts of your case.

Related Posts
  • New York DUI and Employment: How a Conviction Could Impact Your Career Read More
  • New York's Approach to DUI Prevention: Education and Awareness Initiatives Read More
  • When Does a DWI in New York Become a Felony? Read More